A year of reading dangerously…

OK, not really ‘dangerously’…but it’s a great tagline …a bit like Wendy Cope’s poem ‘Making Cocoa for Kingsley Amis’ …it’s not much of a blog, but oh, how I love the title.

As I run two reading groups, I have to read two books a month in order to discuss them (passionately) at the meetings.  As I also like to read other books as well,  it’s sometimes a bit of a push for me to finish them all in time.  But  it’s good for me as I often have to  read out of my comfort zone e.g. any books with a medical/ illness  theme  like Cutting For Stone by Abraham Verghese, or even My Sister’s Keeper by Jodie Picoult….so I suppose, for me, it is  ‘reading dangerously.’

WP_20151003_004

This month I’ve read two ‘big’ books, Americanah by Chimananda Ngozi Adiche, an absorbing study of race from many different angles and countries,

 

 

 

 

 

WP_20151003_002and The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters, in which she captures all the class nuances of 1922 Britain and then delivers a gripping, breath-holding story  with an unguessable ending. Phew.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

