The Martian, the film is good, but the book is gooder.

I was gripped by the book. It was such an original idea, and I was in awe of how Andy Weir made the science so accessible ….even I understood it (mostly). Mark Watney is an engaging character, doggedly determined,  and surprisingly funny , despite his predicament of being alone on Mars, left for dead by his crew. How he survives against all that this alien planet throws at him, is genuinely riveting.

So I approached the film with some apprehension, in spite of being a fan of  both Matt Damon and Ridley Scott .But yes, it is visually stunning and captures Mark’s resilience and his sense of humour. And the ending has you holding your breath. So I thoroughly enjoyed it.

But I just missed all the details, and even all the mishaps, that made the book so special, knowing of course it would be impossible to include them.

But because I feel a bit mean about my criticism, can I make a plea for a long overdue Oscar for Ridley Scott. For goodness sake, Blade Runner, Thelma and Louise, Alien, The Gladiator etc. …what else has the man got to do?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Martian, the film is good, but the book is gooder.

  1. This is one of the five books I gave 5 stars in 2015. I completely agree: the film is good, but the book is superb!

    Like

Leave a Reply

